Deutsch

English

Institute of Hydraulic Engineering
and Water Resources Management
Institute

The history of the Institute of Hydraulic Engineering and Water Resources Management (IWW) dates back to Prof. Dr.-Ing. Otto Intze, one of the founders of RWTH Aachen University and one of the pioneers of dam construction.

Today's Institute of Hydraulic Engineering and Water Resources Management employs approximately 40 members of staff and belongs to the faculty of Civil Engineering of RWTH Aachen University. The structure of the institute (organigram) allows for a professional handling of teaching and research activities.

In January 2014, we moved into a new institute building with an adjacent hydraulics laboratory. The new building provides greater opportunities for conducting model experiments.

The activities of the institute in the areas of teaching and research are supported by the Friends association "Vereinigung zur Förderung des Lehrstuhls und Instituts für Wasserbau und Wasserwirtschaft".

Deutsch

English
Lehrstuhl und Institut für
Wasserbau und Wasserwirtschaft
Institut

Die Geschichte des Instituts für Wasserbau und Wasserwirtschaft (IWW) geht auf Prof. Dr.-Ing. Otto Intze, einen der Gründerväter der RWTH Aachen University sowie einen der Pioniere des Talsperrenbaus zurück.

Der heutige Lehrstuhl und das Institut für Wasserbau und Wasserwirtschaft mit etwa 40 Mitarbeitern sind Teil der Fakultät für Bauingenieurwesen der RWTH Aachen University. Die Struktur des Instituts (Organigramm) gewähr­leistet eine kompetente Abwicklung aller Lehr- und Forschungs­tätigkeiten.

Seit Januar 2014 steht uns ein neues Institutsgebäude mit angrenzender Versuchshalle zur Verfügung. Die Möglichkeiten zur Durchführung von Experimenten und Modellversuchen werden durch den Neubau erheblich verbessert.

Zum Institut gehört außerdem die Vereinigung zur Förderung des Lehrstuhls und Instituts für Wasserbau und Wasserwirtschaft. Die Fördervereinigung hat das Ziel, die Aktivitäten des Instituts im Bereich der Lehre und der Forschung zu unterstützten.