Deutsch

English

Institute of Hydraulic Engineering
and Water Resources Management
Flood

Head of the research group: Prof. Dr.-Ing. H. Schüttrumpf

Floods are a natural phenomenon. Due to human intervention in the natural hydrological cycle together with increased human settlement in regions close to water bodies, floods are increasingly becoming a social problem. Every year, several thousand deaths and damage to the tune of many billions of euros are recorded around the world as a result of hydrological events, such as flash floods, storm surges, river floods and landslides.


The development and implementation of methods and software related to the issue of flooding has been one of the major focuses of the work carried out by the institute for around 20 years. In this context, a broad spectrum of different issues must be covered: probabilistic methods for determining the failure probability of hydraulic engineering structures, hydrodynamic analyses for calculating flood propagation and methods for analysing the consequences of a flood and ultimately integrating the results within the risk analysis.

The current research at the institute is focused on the security of flood protection structures, such as dikes and mobile flood defence walls, as well as on understanding the failure mechanisms of flood protection structures and the consequences of failure.

Current research topics

  • Flood risk management for inland and coastal areas
  • Risk assessment of dike sections
  • Impact of climate change, land-use change, unrestricted sewer overflow and rainwater drainage on the aquatic environment

Deutsch

English
Lehrstuhl und Institut für
Wasserbau und Wasserwirtschaft
Hochwasser

Leiter der Forschungsgruppe: Prof. Dr.-Ing. H. Schüttrumpf

Hochwasser ist ein natürliches Phänomen. Durch anthropogene Eingriffe in den natürlichen hydrologischen Kreislauf und der zunehmenden Aggre­gation von Menschen in gewässernahen Regionen wird Hochwasser allerdings zu einem gesellschaftlichen Problem. Weltweit sind jedes Jahr mehrere tausend Todesopfer und viele Milliarden Euro Gesamtschäden aufgrund hydrologischer Ereignisse wie Sturz-, Sturmfluten, Flussüberschwem­mungen und Erdrutsche zu verzeichnen.


Die Entwicklung und Anwendung von Methoden und Software zum Thema Hochwasser ist seit ca. 20 Jahren ein Arbeitsschwerpunkt des Instituts. Dabei gilt es, ein breites Spektrum an Fragestellungen abzudecken: Probabilistische Methoden zur Bestimmung von Versagenswahrscheinlich­keiten wasserbaulicher Bauwerke, hydrodynamische Analysen zur Berechnung der Über­flutungs­ausbreitung und Methoden zur Analyse der Konsequenzen eines Hochwassers und schließlich die Integration der Ergebnisse innerhalb der Risikoanalyse.

Die aktuelle Forschung am Institut zielt auf die Sicherheit von Hochwasserschutzbauwerken wie Deiche und mobile Hochwasserschutz­mauern sowie das Verständnis der Versagensmechanismen von Hochwasserschutzbauwerken und die Konsequenzen eines Bauwerks­versagens ab.

Aktuelle Forschungsthemen

  • Hochwasserrisikomanagement für Binnen- und Küstenbereiche
  • Risikobetrachtung von Deichabschnitten
  • Auswirkungen von Klimawandel, Landnutzungsänderungen und ungedrosselten Misch- und Regenwassereinleitungen auf Gewässer