Deutsch

English

Institute of Hydraulic Engineering
and Water Resources Management
Groundwater

Head of the research group: Prof. Dr.-Ing. H. Schüttrumpf

The underground is a natural reservoir that stores approximately 69% of the world's fresh water. Groundwater is Germany's largest source of drinking water and process water, but it also has great ecological significance. The dynamics of groundwater have been a focal point of the institute's research for many decades. The sustainable management, use and protection of groundwater as a resource play a significant role in this.


The "Groundwater" research group develops large-scale numerical models for describing the flow and transport processes in porous media and in bedrock aquifers. It also conducts experiments using physical models on the flow and quality of groundwater.

Related to the groundwater problems of opencast mining in the Lower Rhine brown coal reserve, research has been carried out consistently over the past few years on the hydraulic optimisation of wells and on the impact of iron clogging and other chemical processes on the ageing process of wells. The objective is to develop methods and technologies for the cost-effective and energy-efficient operation of wells in the long term.

Current research topics

  • Clogging tendency of vertical filter wells
  • Statistical optimisation of the groundwater network
  • Subterranean distribution of flooding on the Rhine
  • Risks of livestock farming for ground and surface water

Deutsch

English
Lehrstuhl und Institut für
Wasserbau und Wasserwirtschaft
Grundwasser

Leiter der Forschungsgruppe: Prof. Dr.-Ing. H. Schüttrumpf

Der Boden stellt einen natürlichen Wasserspeicher dar, in welchem ca. 69% des weltweit vorhandenen Süßwassers gebunden sind. Das Grund­wasser ist Deutschlands größte Quelle zur Gewinnung von Trink- und Brauchwasser, hat aber auch große ökologische Bedeutung. Unser Institut hat seit vielen Jahrzehnten einen Untersuchungsschwerpunkt im Bereich der Grundwasserdynamik. Dabei spielt der nachhaltige Umgang, die Nutzung und der Schutz der Ressource Grundwasser eine große Rolle.


Die Forschungsgruppe "Grundwasser" entwickelt großräumige numerische Modelle zur Beschreibung der Strömungs- und Transportprozesse in porösen Medien und in Festgesteinsaquiferen. Weiterhin werden modell-physikalische Experimente zur Grundwasserströmung und Grundwasser­güte durchgeführt.

Aufgrund der Grundwasserproblematik der Tagebaue im niederrheinischen Braunkohlerevier wurden in den letzten Jahren konsequent Unter­suchungen zur hydraulischen Optimierung von Brunnen sowie zur Wirkung der Verockerung und anderer chemischer Prozesse auf die Alterung von Brunnen durchgeführt. Ziel ist es, Methoden und Technologien zu entwickeln, um Brunnen langfristig kosten- und energieeffizienter zu betreiben.

Aktuelle Forschungsthemen

  • Verockerungsneigung von Vertikalfilterbrunnen
  • Statistische Optimierung des Grundwassermessnetzes
  • Unterirdische Verbreitung von Hochwassern am Rhein
  • Risiken der Tierhaltung für Grund- und Oberflächenwasser