Deutsch

English

Institute of Hydraulic Engineering
and Water Resources Management
Morphodynamics

Head of the research group: Dr. R. M. Frings

The objective of the "Morphodynamics" research group is to improve our understanding of river systems on time scales ranging from seconds through to centuries. The main focus of the research is on the interaction between natural morphodynamics, ecology and human factors.

We are convinced that a sustainable anthropogenic development of river catchment areas is only possible when natural morphodynamics are promoted. Based on this vision, we offer river managers innovative and practical solutions for sediment-related problems.


Our research group comprises civil engineers, geologists, hydrologists, physical geographers and physicists. Our research methods include the use of field measurements and laboratory studies as well as computer simulations and theoretical analyses. In our basic research and practice-oriented research we work intensively together with national and foreign river authorities.

Current research topics

  • Sediment deposits in reservoirs
  • The riverbed as a habitat for organisms
  • Development of a software tool for analysing bed forms
  • Accuracy of sediment transport measuring techniques
  • Ecological impact of contaminated sediments
  • Risks of antibiotics in sediments

Boasting around fifteen years of experience, we are specialists in the morphodynamics of the Rhine. We are currently integrating the results collected so far in a comprehensive morphological analysis of the Rhine basin.

Deutsch

English
Lehrstuhl und Institut für
Wasserbau und Wasserwirtschaft
Morphodynamik

Leiter der Forschungsgruppe: Dr. R. M. Frings

Die Forschungsgruppe "Morphodynamik" versucht unser Verständnis von Flusssystemen auf Zeitskalen von Sekunden bis Jahrhunderte zu ver­bessern. Dabei steht insbesondere die Interaktion zwischen natürlicher Morphodynamik, Ökologie und menschlichen Einflüssen im Fokus.

Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass eine nachhaltige anthropogene Entwicklung von Flusseinzugsgebieten nur bei Förderung der natürlichen Morphodynamik möglich ist. Mit dieser Vision als Ausgangspunkt bieten wir Flussmanagern innovative und praktische Lösungen für sedimentbezogene Probleme.


Unsere Forschungsgruppe besteht aus Bauingenieuren, Geologen, Hydrologen, physischen Geographen und Physikern. Als Forschungs­methoden werden sowohl Feldmessungen und Laboruntersuchungen als auch Computersimulationen und theoretische Analysen eingesetzt. Bei unserer Grundlagenforschung und praxisorientierter Forschung arbeiten wir intensiv mit nationalen und ausländischen Flussbehörden zusammen.

Aktuelle Forschungsthemen

  • Ablagerung von Sedimenten in Stauseen
  • Die Flusssohle als Lebensraum für Organismen
  • Entwicklung einer Software für die Analyse von Transportkörpern
  • Genauigkeit von Sedimenttransportmesstechniken
  • Ökologische Wirkung von kontaminierten Sedimenten
  • Risiken von Antibiotika-behafteten Sedimenten

Mit etwa fünfzehn Jahren Erfahrung sind wir Spezialisten in Bezug auf die Morphodynamik des Rheins. Derzeit integrieren wir die bisherigen Ergeb­nisse in einer umfassenden morphologischen Analyse des Rheineinzugs­gebiets.